Return to Headlines

UCHS Key Club Celebrates Its First Year of Service


 Key Club

“Caring is our way of life.”

That’s the motto of the new University City High School Key Club. Through caring and compassion, members learn to think selflessly and develop a sense of something greater than themselves.  

The Key Club is an international student-led group that partners with local Kiwanis clubs to make a positive impact and serve others in their schools and in the community. There are approximately 20 charter members in the University City High School Key Club. On Thursday, May 23, 2019, they gathered to celebrate their inaugural year.

Wearing their Key Club colors of blue, yellow and white, students took the pledge of honor. Three UCHS graduating seniors were recognized for their involvement in the club: Angela Smith, Markell Tompkins and Annika Williams.

The ceremony began with the Pledge of Allegiance by the UCHS Color Guard. Superintendent of Schools (and U. City Kiwanis member) Sharonica Hardin-Bartley gave the keynote address, offering support and words of encouragement and praise.  

“Young people across the globe are showing up in meaningful ways as leaders -- and I expect no less from each of you,” she said.

Proclamations from the City of University City as well as St. Louis County were read aloud, and new charter members were inducted into the club.

The  2018-19 Key Club of University City High School Charter Members are: Tamarra Anderson, Maelisha Boclair, Roberta Booth, Anaiah Easley, Chloe’ Easter, Kailon Ford, Alexander Gutierrez, Rhyan Haynes, Alametta Hinton, Molly Holman, Nyjah Hudson, Nicole Kellogg, Trinity Lewis, Alonah Lucious, Nia McFadden, Annie Rhoades, Shadonna Robinson, Angela Smith, Markell Tompkins and Annika Williams.

Installation of new club officers was also held during the ceremony. The following UCHS Key Club served as officers during the 2018-19 school year:

President:  Markell Tompkins

Vice President:  Chloe’ Easter 

Secretary:  Anaiah Easley

Treasurer:  Molly Holman       

Editor:  Shadonna Robinson 

Webmaster:  Angela Smith