2015 Hall of Fame

  • UCHS announces 10 Hall of Fame inductees for 2015 

    What do a healthcare executive, pediatrician, marketing specialist, portrait painter, college professor, neurosurgeon, engineering and medical consultant, attorney, bass player and former NFL quarterback have in common? They are all proud products of the School District of University City and among 10 alumni to be part of the University City High School Hall of Fame 2015 induction class.

    The 2015 UCHS Hall of Fame induction celebration is scheduled for Homecoming weekend, Friday, Oct. 9 beginning at 6 p.m. Alan Spector, Class of 1964 and 2011 inductee, will again serve as Master of Ceremonies. This year’s inductees are:

    • Peggy Austin, Class of 1974;
    • Dr. Blair E. Batson, Class of 1937;
    • Kevin Bryant, Class of 1989;
    • Gilbert “Chic” G. Early, III, Class of 1954;
    • the late Jay S. Goodman, Class of 1957;
    • Dr. Wolff M. Kirsch, Class of 1948;
    • Dr. James P. Kornberg, Class of 1965;
    • Denise D. Lieberman, Class of 1987;
    • Christopher Thomas, Class of 1988 and
    • Pete Woods, Class of 1974.

    The event is open to the public. Tickets include reception, dinner and program at the Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel. Cost is $75 per person by Sept. 14, or $100 by Sept. 28. Seating is limited. No tickets will be sold at the door. Gold Contributor VIP seating for $150 per person includes a commemorative book and program acknowledgment. Sponsorships are available and include event signage, program listing and post-event publicity. Email communications@ucityschools.org or call 314-290-4001 for sponsorship details.

    Click here for 3-page PDF of the invitation and RSVP card. (see below)

    For a printed copy of the invitation, send mailing address by Sept. 18 to communications@ucityschools.org or McNair Communications Office, 8136 Groby Road, University City, MO 63130; or call 314-290-4001.

    Other Saturday Homecoming weekend activities include a 10 a.m. parade, noon Hall of Fame visit and 1 p.m. football game.

    The Hall of Fame was established in 1999 to recognize alumni accomplishments and currently includes 121 graduates. Past honorees include playwright Tennessee Williams, OASIS founder Marylen Mann, sculptor Saunders Schultz, Grammy Award-winning rapper Cornell “Nelly” Haynes, Oakland A’s co-owner Lewis Nelson Wolff, long-time Cardinals publicist Marty Hendin and philanthropist E. Desmond Lee, to name a few.


    Click here information including nomination form for 2017 and past recipients.